Book Review: Death Before Wicket by Kerry Greenwood (Phryne Fisher Mysteries, 10)

Death Before Wicket is a mystery novel by Kerry Greenwood, featuring her iconic detective, Phryne Fisher. The novel was first published in 1999 and is the tenth book in the Phryne Fisher series.

In Death Before Wicket, Phryne travels to Melbourne, Australia, to help a friend who is having trouble with her university research project. However, when she arrives, she discovers that her friend has disappeared, and the university is in a state of chaos due to a series of pranks and accidents.

Phryne quickly becomes embroiled in the mystery and sets out to investigate. She discovers that the university is rife with secrets and scandals, and that her friend’s research may have something to do with it. As Phryne delves deeper into the case, she faces danger and betrayal, but she never gives up until she uncovers the truth.

One of the strengths of the book is its setting in 1920s Australia, which is vividly depicted and adds to the atmosphere of the story. Greenwood’s writing is engaging and full of wit, and the character of Phryne is a compelling and dynamic heroine.

The plot of Death Before Wicket is intricately crafted, with numerous twists and turns that keep the reader guessing until the very end. The pacing of the novel is also impressive, with a gradual buildup of tension that culminates in a satisfying and surprising conclusion. You can buy a copy of the book from Amazon here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s